Awards for Civilian Bravery

Date : 12-01-2018

The “Awards for Civilian Bravery” were held at the Committee Room 01 of the Parliament on the 10th of January 2018 under the patronage of Speaker Hon. Karu Jayasuriya. The awards were conferred by the Foundation for Civilian Bravery of Sri Lanka, of which the Hon. Speaker is the chief patron.


At this year’s ceremony, the “Asian Gold Medal of Civilian Bravery” was presented to Mr Laxmi Sundar Gainju, a 27-year-old Nepalese social worker. His efforts in assisting the victims and rescuing many a people during the earthquake of 2015 were recognised on this day. Thereafter, the first two Sri Lankans to complete their ascent to Mount Everest, Ms Jayanthi Kuru Utumpala and Mr Johann Peries, were conferred with the “Civilian Bravery Outstanding Courage Award” in recognition of their triumph over adversity. All three accolades were awarded by the Hon. Speaker.


The event was attended by many dignitaries including the High Commissioner of Nepal to Sri Lanka.


1 2

3 4



Submit to Delicious Submit to Digg Submit to Facebook Submit to Google Bookmarks Submit to Twitter Submit to LinkedIn

Parliament Calendar

download parliament mobile app

Mailing List Subscription

Copyright © The Parliament of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.

Solution by: Lankacom